Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics
Share |

In memory of Selma Jeanne Cohen, the American Society for Aesthetics established a $1000 biennial prize in dance aesthetics, dance theory, or the history of dance. Begun in 2008, the prize was awardedfor a critical article or book of distinction published in English; the prize was awarded in alternate years from 2008 through 2014.

Commencing in 2016, the prize will be awarded every year, alternating critical articles and books of distinction. In 2016, the Prize will be awarded for an outstanding article published from July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2016. In 2017, the Prize will be awarded for an outstanding book published from July 1, 2014 – May 31, 2017. Thereafter, the prize will be awarded for publications in the two-year period prior to the award. The prize winner will be selected by a committee of three members appointed by the President of the ASA and will be notified by August 1 of the prize year. The award will be announced publicly during the national meeting of the ASA that fall. The winner will be encouraged but not required to attend the meeting, and reasonable travel expenses will be reimbursed for attendance. The prize may not be awarded if, in the opinion of the judges, no nomination of sufficient merit and appropriateness is received.

The ASA selection committee welcomes published work of distinction that contributes to dance aesthetics, dance theory, or the history of dance. Eligible publications must have appeared in reputable peer reviewed venues with peer review recognized by the scholarly community and that are permanently available to the interested scholarly community of students and researchers. “Article” nominations may be either a refereed article that appeared in a recognized journal or an original, previously unpublished, chapter or essay in an anthology. Co-authored articles are eligible. “Book” nominations should consist of a published, refereed monograph of original scholarship. Co-authored monographs are eligible. Collections of previously published work, anthologies of work by multiple authors, and translations are not eligible. In the case of co-authored articles or books, prize and travel support will be divided equally among the co-authors. Nominations will be judged based on significance of the topic or issue, quality of the research, quality of the writing, originality, and contribution to the dance literature.

Submissions should be directed to Julie Van Camp, ASA Secretary-Treasurer, 1550 Larimer St. #644, Denver, CO 80202-1602 or The nominated article or book must be submitted in full. Electronic submissions are strongly preferred, in PDF format replicating the original publication. If electronic submissions are not available, two copies must be submitted, whether books or articles. The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 1 of the award year.

Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics: Winners

Chantal Frankenbach (2016)
Ann Cooper Albright (2014)
Graham McFee (2012)
Marcia B. Siegel (2010)
Ann Hutchinson Guest (2008)
Ivor Guest (2008)
Sally Banes (2008)

more Meetings

9/29/2017 » 9/30/2017
Conference: Race, Art and Aesthetics

11/15/2017 » 11/18/2017
ASA 75th Annual Meeting

Featured Members
Domenica RomagniWinner of Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Fellowship for 2017-18
Rachel ZuckertASA Trustee 2014-2017

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal