Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
JAAC: Special Symposia
Share |

Forthcoming Symposia

Past Symposia

2015: 73.2 (Spring) The 100th Anniversary of Wölfflin's Principles of Art History
Symposiasts: Bence Nanay, David Bordwell, Whitney Davis, Jason Gaiger, Michael Newall
2014: 72.4 (Fall)  The Aesthetics of Ruin and Absence
Symposiasts: Carolyn Korsmeyer, Jennifer Judkins, Jeanette Bicknell, Elizabeth Scarbrough
2013: 71.3 (Summer) Serial Art
Symposiasts: Christy Mag Uidhir, Henry John Pratt, Roy T. Cook
2013: 71:2 (Spring)  Dance Art and Science
Symposiasts: Barbara Gail Montero, Noël Carroll and William P. Seeley, Graham McFee, David Davies, Renee M. Conroy

2010: 68.3 (Summer) Musical Improvisation
Symposiasts: Philip Alperson, Garry L. Hagberg, John M. Carvalho, William Day, Gary Iseminger

2005: 63:2 (Spring) Monroe Beardsley's Legacy in Aesthetics
Michael Wreen and Donald Callen (guest editors)
Symposiasts: George Dickie, Stephen Davies, Alan Goldman, Nicholas Wolterstorff

2003: 61.1 (Winter) How Museums Do Things with Artworks
Symposiasts: Tiffany Sutton, Ivan Gaskell, David Carrier

2001: 59.3 (Summer) Staging Interpretations
Symposiasts: David Z. Saltz, James R. Hamilton, Noël Carroll

2001: 59.1 (Winter) The Historicity of the Eye
Symposiasts: Arthur C. Danto, Noël Carroll, Mark Rollins, Whitney Davis

2000: 58.3 (Summer) The Legacy of Nelson Goodman
Symposiasts: Jenefer Robinson, Catherine Z. Elgin, Dominic McIver Lopes, Peter Kivy, Jean-Pierre Cometti, Howard Gardner, Curtis L. Carter

1999: 57.1 (Winter) Beauty Matters
Symposiasts: Peg Zeglin Brand, Marcia Muelder Eaton, Susan Bordo, Paul C. Taylor

1998: 56.3 (Summer) Wollheim on Pictorial Representation
Symposiasts: Richard Wollheim, Jerrold Levinson, Susan L. Feagin

1997: 55.1 (Winter) Meyer Shapiro
Symposiasts: Barry Schwabsky, Michael Ann Holly, Alan Wallach, Paul Mattick

1996: 54.1 (Winter) Public Art
Symposiasts: Hilde Hein, Gregg M. Horowitz, Michael Kelly

1995: 53.1 (Winter) Relativism and Interpretation
Symposiasts: Joseph Margolis, Stephen Davies, Robert Stecker

more Meetings

Workshop in Aesthetics and Cognitive Science

7/4/2017 » 7/6/2017
Workshop: The Arts and Imagination

Featured Members
Anna Christina RibeiroASA Trustee & ASA speaker at 2016 Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy
Eleen M. DeprezWinner of the ASA Travel Grant for Workshop on "The Arts and Imagination"

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal