Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Election Results: Vice President and Trustees

Wednesday, January 4, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce the results of the election for a new Vice-President and three new trustees. They will assume office on February 1, 2017.

Vice-President: The new Vice-President will hold office from February 1, 2017-January 31, 2019, and then will become the next President of ASA for a two year term.

Susan Feagin is visiting research professor of philosophy at Temple University. She was the 2016 Wollheim Lecturer at the BSA and is currently working on a book on philosophy of theater for Oxford University Press. Publications include numerous articles and book chapters on such topics as art and emotion, empathy, tragedy, interpretation, art and knowledge, and painting and drawing.” She is the author of Reading with Feeling: The Aesthetics of Appreciation (Cornell 1996), editor of Global Theories of Aesthetics and the Arts (Wiley-Blackwell 2007) and co-editor of Aesthetics (Oxford 1997). She was editor of The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism from 2003-2013 and taught at the University of Missouri-Kansas City 1977-2003. A member of the ASA since 1975, she served on the Board of Trustees, various program committees, and was program chair for Asilomar 1994. She is current president of the American Society for Value Inquiry and past president of Central States Philosophical Association.

Trustees: Three new trustees will serve from February 1, 2017-January 31, 2020.

Robert Hopkins is Chair of the Philosophy Department at NYU. Before coming to the U.S. in 2012 he worked at the universities of Birmingham and Sheffield. He’s been a member of the ASA since 2001 and has attended and given papers at many of the annual conferences. Rob’s work, which covers pictorial representation, the aesthetics of the various visual arts, the imagination, and the epistemology and status of aesthetic judgement, has been published in various places, including JAAC and the BJA, but also Mind, Philosophical Review, PPR, Nous and the Journal of Philosophy. Rob served for five years on the Executive Committee of the British Society of Aesthetics and between 2007 and 2010 was Honorary Secretary (in effect, director) of the Mind Association, the learned society that publishes Mind and funds many philosophical activities in the UK. He was the first President of the European Society for Aesthetics.

Anna Christina Ribeiro is Associate Professor of Philosophy at Texas Tech University, where she has been since earning her PhD from the University of Maryland in 2006. Ribeiro has been a National Humanities Center fellow (2013-14) and a Mellon & Woodrow Wilson Fellow (2009-10). She has published numerous articles and book chapters on the philosophy of poetry, as well as the entries on poetry for The Blackwell Companion to Aesthetics, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Literature. Ribeiro is the editor of The Bloomsbury Companion to Aesthetics (2012, 2015), and her monograph Beautiful Speech: The Nature, Origins and Powers of Poetry is under contract with Oxford University Press. She was the ASA-sponsored speaker at the 2016 Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy, and the winner of the first Ornie Award for Outstanding Guest Post in the blog Aesthetics for Birds for her essay “The Philosophical Importance of Aesthetics” in 2014.

Paul C. Taylor is an associate professor of philosophy and African American studies at the Pennsylvania State University, where he also serves as an associate dean in the College of the Liberal Arts. Taylor undertook his formal education in philosophy at Morehouse College (BA) and Rutgers (MA and PhD), and he subsequently earned a master’s degree in public administration at the Kennedy School. He specializes mainly in race theory, aesthetics, and Africana thought, and his publications include three books and many articles and book chapters in these areas. His most recent book is Black Is Beautiful: A Philosophy of Black Aesthetics (Blackwell). Taylor is a long time member of the ASA. His first academic publication appeared in the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism more years ago than he cares to admit, and he was appointed to and served on the first ASA diversity committee in 2009.

We are very grateful for the service of Dominic McIver Lopes, who completes his term as past-President on January 31, 2017, and will step down from the board. We also are grateful for the service of three trustees, Gary Iseminger, Peg Brand Weiser, and Rachel Zuckert, who complete their terms on January 31, 2017.

In December 2017, the ASA will elect three new trustees. Persons interested in standing for election next year should contact the

more Meetings

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
POSTPONED: Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Eastern Meeting

Featured Members
Richard EldridgeASA 1998 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Robert HopkinsASA Trustee 2017-20

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal