Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Announces Prize Winners at 2017 Meeting

Saturday, November 18, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics announced the winners of five prizes at the Business Meeting at the 75th Annual Meeting in New Orleans:

OUTSTANDING MONOGRAPH PRIZE: Paul C. Taylor (Pennsylvania State University) for his book, Black is Beautiful: A Philosophy of Black Aesthetics (Wiley-Blackwell, 2016).

TED COHEN PRIZE: Steven D. Hales (Bloomsburg University) for his article, "Audiophile Aesthetics," American Philosophical Quarterly 54:2 (April 2017), 195-208.

SELMA JEANNE COHEN PRIZE IN DANCE AESTHETICS: Anthea Kraut (University of California, Riverside) for her book, Choreographing Copyright: Race, Gender, and Intellectual Property Rights in American Dance (Oxford University Press, 2016).

JOHN FISHER PRIZE: Emine Hande Tuna (Brown University), "Kant on Informed Pure Judgments of Taste" 

OUTSTANDING STUDENT PAPER PRIZE: Panos Paris (University of Birmingham) , "Functional Beauty, Pleasure, and Experience" 

For information on prizes to be awarded in 2018, please see the ASA web site (News==>Grants and Prizes)

more Meetings

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
POSTPONED: Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Eastern Meeting

Featured Members
Michael NewallWinner of the 2019 Outstanding Monograph Prize
Derek MatraversASA Trustee 2008-11; 2017 Richard Wollheim speaker; Program Chair 2014 Annual Mtg

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal