Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Rocky Mountain Division Announces CFA for 2020 meeting

Tuesday, January 7, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The Rocky Mountain Division of the American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce its call for abstracts for its Thirty-Seventh Annual Meeting at the Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico, July 10-12, 2020. Submissions are due March 15, 2020.

The complete CFA is here, and also below in this announcement.

Manuel Davenport Keynote Address: Yuriko Saito

Yuriko Saito, born and raised in Japan, received her Ph. D. in Philosophy from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She taught at the Rhode Island School of Design for 37 years before stepping down in 2018. Her work in everyday aesthetics, environmental aesthetics, and Japanese aesthetics has appeared in a number of journals, book chapters, and encyclopedia entries, including "Aesthetics of the Everyday" in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and "Everyday Aesthetics," "Japanese Aesthetics - An Overview," and "Japanese Aesthetic Appreciation of Nature" in The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Oxford University Press). Her Everyday Aesthetics (hardback 2008, paperback 2010) and Aesthetics of the Familiar: Everyday Life and World-Making (hardback 2017, paperback 2020) were both published by Oxford University Press. The latter was awarded the outstanding monograph prize by the American Society for Aesthetics in 2018. She also works as Editor of the first open-access, peer-reviewed journal, Contemporary Aesthetics. In addition, she will be the Richard Wollheim Lecturer at the British Society of Aesthetics Annual Conference in 2020.

Michael Manson Artist Keynote Address: Dan Jenkins

Dan Jenkins received his Bachelor of Architecture from the University of British Columbia. With over 30 years of experience as an architect in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, he has won numerous awards since launching his own firm there in 1981. The mission statement of his firm is: “To design communities, buildings and ‘places’ of timeless beauty and value, that are appropriate to their context, respect the environment, and provide a superior quality of life for their inhabitants.” He has been responsible for the design of a wide range of projects, including international hotel and resort developments, large-scale community planning projects, commercial buildings, mixed-use buildings, custom homes, and multi-family housing. He has also been an advocate for excellence in architecture, both through his work and as a public speaker, conference presenter, and assistant professor of architecture at the University of Calgary, as well as through the publication of Best Home Magazine, which he started to increase public awareness of the value of architects, and architecture in residential design.

Submission Guidelines—March 15, 2020 Submission Deadline

We welcome presentations in all fields and disciplines pertaining to the history, application, and appreciation of aesthetic understanding.  We are always particularly interested in research involving interdisciplinary and intercultural approaches emphasizing the natural and cultural character of the American Southwest.

 The conference is organized into 1.5-hour sessions with each of three speakers allotted 20-25 minutes to present and 5 minutes for Q & A. The ASARMD Division’s long-standing practice has been to invite proposals, in the form of abstracts, for papers that you wish to present. Proposals should be no more than 250 words in length and follow the format of a typical abstract, which is to say, offer a formal, albeit succinct, summary of the work to be presented, including conclusion(s) to be drawn. Panel presentations should consist of either three or four papers and include each participant’s abstract.

 Please submit abstracts to:

Attention, Graduate Students: Graduate Student in Philosophy Essay Prizes

The Center for Philosophical Studies (CPS) at Lamar University will again be offering its Best Graduate Student in Philosophy Essay Prize in the amount of  $125.00 each.

Dr. Arthur Stewart, CPS Director, and Professor James Mock, of the University of Central Oklahoma, will serve as primary referees. Professor E.M. Dadlez, also of UCO, will serve as a third, tie-breaking voter, should the need arise. Competition Procedure: Graduate students in philosophy should provide, with their abstract’s information, about their official degree aspirations and academic affiliation. Upon acceptance to the 2020 Divisional Program, full, completed essays will be required, and will be due no later than May 15, 2020. They should be sent to:  and to  

Referees’ decisions will be announced no later than June 1, 2020.

IRENE H. CHAYES TRAVEL FUND: ASARMD will have $1200 provided by the American Society for Aesthetics to support travel to the meeting for persons with papers accepted for the program who have no other access to professional travel funds at their teaching institution(s) during the academic year.

To be eligible for a travel grant from these funds:

  • You must be a member of ASA in good standing in the calendar year of the paper submission and presentation and you must register for the meeting.
  • Eligible persons include faculty members, independent scholars, and studen
  •  If you have some access to travel funds from your institution, but prefer to use it for a different meeting, you are not eligible for a Chayes Travel Grant this year.

 To apply for a travel grant this year: Submit your request to and no later than May 15, 2020

FUNDING FROM THE BRITISH SOCIETY OF AESTHETICS: Last year, the British society started a new program that provides travel grants for full-time students and recent PhDs to present their work at an aesthetics meeting not sponsored by BSA. That includes all three ASA divisional meetings. If you are eligible for those funds, it will be possible to combine grants from both BSA and ASA Chayes funds for your travel.

Registration Fees and Hotel Rates:

Registration Fees

  • Regular Registration: $135 (early bird rate, up to one week prior to conference; $5 surcharge for onsite registration)
  • Emeritus Faculty and Graduate Students: $75

To register for the conference, please go to:

Hotel Rates

June 2nd deadline for reserving hotel rooms. The conference room rate at the Drury Plaza Hotel for registered ASARMD conference attendees is as follows:

  • Single/Double Room: $159.
  • Triple Room: $169.
  • Quad Room: $179.

The guestroom rate will be extended for guests arriving/departing three days pre/post conference dates, based on availability.

more Meetings

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Eastern Meeting

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

Featured Members
Anna Christina RibeiroASA Trustee 2017-20 & ASA speaker at 2016 Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy
Gary IsemingerASA Trustee for 2014-17

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal