Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Peter Kivy Prize Winners Announced

Friday, May 8, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |
The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce the winners of the Peter Kivy Prize:

  Garry Hagberg (Bard): “Kivy’s Mystery: Absolute Music and What the Formalist Can (or Could) Hear”

  Jason Leddington (Bucknell/Antwerp): "Sonic Pictures"

  Bence Nanay (Antwerp): “Looking for Profundity (in all the wrong places)”

The winning essayists will present their work at a special panel at the ASA Virtual Annual Meeting on Saturday, November 14. Jennifer Judkins (UCLA) will provide a commentary. The essays were selected from among twelve nominations by a special review committee appointed by the ASA President in consultation with the Board of Trustees and the Kivy family. The top three essays will each receive a prize of $1000.


For more information on the  meeting: 

The Peter Kivy Prize was unanimously approved in April 2018 by the ASA Board of Trustees. The prize is intended to encourage new, unpublished work on the philosophy of music of Peter Kivy (1934-2017). Kivy served as an ASA Trustee from 1976-78 and as President from 1991-92.


more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

9/17/2020 » 9/18/2020
Virtual: Southern Aesthetics Workshop II

Featured Members
Sherri IrvinWinner: 30th Anniversary FCC Essay Prize; Trustee 2009-12; Program Chair for 2016 ASA Annual Meeting
Sandra ShapshayASA Delegate to the International Aesthetics Association 2020-2022

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal