Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
CANCELLED: Southern Aesthetics Workshop II
Map this EventMap this Event Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

CANCELLED Southern Aesthetics Workshop II, University of Louisville, August 28-29, 2020

 Export to Your Calendar 8/28/2020 to 8/29/2020
When: August 28-29, 2020
Where: Map this event »
University of Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky  40292
United States
Contact: Aaron Meskin

« Go to Upcoming Event List  



The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that the ASA Board of Trustees has approved establishment of a new Southern Division, the fourth Division of the ASA. The organizing committee for the proposal and initial meeting are Madeline Martin-Seaver, Aaron Meskin, Elizabeth Scarbrough, and James Shelley.

The stated aims of the Southern Division include:

  • to promote study, research, discussion and publication in aesthetics, especially by those working in the South or with research interests in topics related to the South;
  • to facilitate community-building among aestheticians working in the South—not just faculty, but graduate students and undergraduates; and
  • to promote and support the investigation of what it means to be an aesthetician working in the South.

Southern Division Activities:In the short term, the primary focus of the Southern Division will be the organization of annual workshop-style events along the lines of the recent Southern Aesthetics Workshop, funded by ASA, and held at Auburn University August 30-31, 2019. Such events will include a significant pre-read workshop component and involve a commitment to include papers or panels which address aesthetic issues raised in and by the South (e.g., aesthetic issues relating to monuments and memorials, such as those related to the Confederacy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the promotion of social justice in general; the aesthetics of Reconstruction; black aesthetics; indigenous perspectives on aesthetics; the aesthetics of Southern music and food, etc.).

The Southern Division may engage in a number of other activities:

  • Working with other academic organizations in the South (the Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology, the Midsouth Philosophy Conference, the Chapel Hill Normativity Workshop, the Center for the study of Southern Culture, etc.) to promote aesthetics in the region (e.g., by setting up sessions at conferences or advising about potential speakers).
  • Reaching out to, and working with, HBCUs in the region to promote the study of aesthetics at those institutions.
  • Working with cultural institutions in the South (e.g., Black Mountain College Museum in Asheville, the National Museum of African American Music in Nashville, the National Memorial for Peace and Justice in Montgomery, the Nasher Museum of Art in Durham) to promote the study of aesthetics in the region.

Southern Division Rules:

  • Any member of the ASA who wishes will be allowed membership in the division.
  • All members of the organizing committee must be members of the ASA.
  • Election of organizing committee members for two-year terms will take place at Southern Division Meetings.

Oversight and organization: The division will be overseen by an organizing committee of at least three people. Committee members will hold two-year terms. There will be no term limits. The initial organizing committee will consist of Madeline Martin-Seaver, Aaron Meskin, Elizabeth Scarbrough and James Shelley. The organizing committee will be responsible for setting dates and locations of meetings and will work with, and advise, the local coordinator on planning the workshop. The organizing committee will also be responsible for ensuring that all ASA guidelines are adhered to and for submitting an annual report to the Secretary-Treasurer of the ASA Board of Trustees. The position of regional Secretary may be rotated on an annual basis, but there will be no term limit on this role.James Shelley will serve as the regional Secretary during the first year of the Division’s existence.

Meetings:The Division plans to rotate meeting locations each year. Hosting will be linked with willingness and ability to provide funding to partially or fully match ASA contributions. Meetings will take place in late summer/early fall. They will be planned so as to avoid conflict with the BSA and ASA annual meetings as well as other regional meetings. Labor Day weekend worked well in 2019, but changing academic schedules suggest the Division should not commit itself to always meeting on that weekend.

ASA support: Commencing in 2021, the Division will receive $1500 to support honorarium ($500) and travel ($1000) for a keynote address. In addition, the new Southern Division will receive $1000 in Irene H. Chayes Travel Funds for persons without institutional access to travel funds to present their work. The decisions on recipients and amounts for these travel funds will be made by the Division organizers. (These policies and amounts were adopted by the ASA Board of Trustees on June 11, 2020, and supercede previous offers of ASA support.) Each Division is free to use its own registration revenues to pay higher amounts for honorarium and travel and for additional keynote speakers. 

Financial Self-Sufficiency:The Southern division organizers believe that annual workshops can be run inexpensively. For example, it is not necessary to arrange hotel contracts for participants. As long as information is provided to attendees, they may book their own lodging. We will generally meet at universities where meeting rooms are inexpensive or free. Minimal catering (for coffee breaks and, if possible, light lunches) will be provided by the local organizer.



Policies on Discrimination, Harassment, and Respectful Behavior

The ASA Policies (effective July 12, 2019) will be in effect for this meeting. The ASA Ombudsperson Jeanette Bicknell will be available throughout the meeting.

Policies for Accessibility at ASA Meetings

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

7/10/2020 » 7/12/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Rocky Mountain Division

Featured Members
Allen Carlson1987 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Garry HagbergPeter Kivy Prize winner & 1997 Annual Meeting Program Chair

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal