Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
The Philosophy of Portraits
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

Conference on the Philosophy of Portraits, April 12-14, 2018

4/12/2018 to 4/14/2018
When: April 12-14, 2018
Where: University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland  20742
United States
Contact: Hans Maes

Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

The American Society for Aesthetics Board of Trustees has approved a grant of $3,990 for a conference on "The Philosophy of Portraits" at the University of Maryland, April 12-14, 2018.

The conference has been organized by Hans Maes, Senior Lecturer in History and Philosophy of Art and Director of the Aesthetics Research Centre at the University of Kent, and Jerrold Levinson, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at the University of Maryland. Confirmed keynote speakers include A.W. Eaton (University of Illinois), Cynthia Freeland (University of Houston), Jenefer Robinson (University of Cincinnati), and Dorothy Moss (National Portrait Gallery).

Program (March 5, 2018)


  • Please register to assist the conference organizers in planning.
  • ASA members receive free registration. Be sure to log into the ASA web site FIRST so you are shown the ASA free registration
  • Registration for non-members of ASA is $35.

Conference locations

  • Thursday, April 12: Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
  • Friday-Saturday, April 13-14: Skinner Building, University of Maryland, College Park

Conference Poster (February 27, 2018)

Student Travel Grants

Congratulations to Matteo Ravasio (Auckland) and Eleen Deprez (Kent), recipients of the ASA Student Travel Grants to present their work at this meeting.


  • Macalester Bell (Bryn Mawr)
  • A. W. Eaton (University of Illinois)
  • Cynthia Freeland (University of Houston)
  • Ivan Gaskell (Bard Graduate Centre)
  • Martin Hammer (University of Kent)
  • Jason Holt (Acadia University)
  • Hans Maes (University of Kent)
  • Dorothy Moss (National Portrait Gallery)
  • Michael Newall & Eleen Deprez (University of Kent)
  • E.H. Matthes (Wellesley College)
  • Ira Newman (Mansfield University)
  • Matteo Ravasio (University of Auckland)
  • Jenefer Robinson (University of Cincinnati)
  • Kenny Walden (Dartmouth College)





more Meetings

3/20/2020 » 3/21/2020
2020 ASA Pacific Meeting

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Garry HagbergASA 1997 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Maria Jose Alcaraz-LeonASA Trustee 2018-2021

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal