Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
About the ASA
Share |

American Society for Aesthetics

The American Society for Aesthetics was founded in 1942 to promote study, research, discussion, and publication in aesthetics. "Aesthetics," in this connection, is understood to include all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism, and education. "The arts" include the visual arts, literature, music, and theater arts.

The ASA publishes the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, the ASA Newsletter, and this web site. Both publications are free to members. The Society also meets annually in the fall and its regional divisions in the spring.
The ASA sponsors the Danto and Wollheim Lectures at its annual meeting.

Contact Information

American Society for Aesthetics
c/o Julie Van Camp
1550 Larimer St. #644
Denver CO 80202-1602


Membership Information

Membership is open to all interested persons. Members receive print and electronic subscriptions to the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism and the ASA Newsletter. To join the Society, click "Join ASA" at the top of the page or download a printable dues form. You can renew your membership up to 120 days before expiration by using the link that will appear on your profile page.

Current member dues rates are $35 for students and the unemployed, $60 for emeritus members, $80 for regular, and $120 for joint members (two members at one address). Overseas members pay $15 extra per year as a mailing surcharge in addition to the above rates. You can save by buying multi-year memberships: Regular: $140 (2 years); $190 (3 years). Emeritus: $100 (2 years); $140 (3 years). You can also buy a Lifetime membership for $1000. All membership dues rates have remained unchanged from 2015-2020.

The ASA membership year is January 1 - December 31. We regret that we are unable to pro-rate membership dues. When a new member joins in the last three months of the year, that membership is extended through 12/31 of the following calendar year.

Benefits of Membership

Members get print copies of JAAC (four per year) and the ASA Newsletter (three per year).
Members get immediate access to the latest issues of JAAC via the web site of Wiley, the publisher. (Databases such as JStor have a one-year delay in availability.)
ASA members again have on-line access for one-year to the new Oxford Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, 2d ed. and a 40% discount on purchase of the hard-copy edition.
ASA members receive a 20% discount on all Oxford University Press hardcover titles.
Student members are eligible for travel support to the annual meeting if they have a paper accepted.
Student members are eligible for travel support to attend certain ASA-sponsored conferences.
Only ASA members can apply for the Dissertation Fellowship, the Outstanding Monograph Prize, the John Fisher Prize, the Ted Cohen Prize, the Selma Jane Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics, the Arthur Danto/ASA Prize, Major Grants, and other opportunities.
Only ASA members are eligible for the Irene H. Chayes Travel grants to the annual meeting and divisional meetings for people with no institutional access to travel to present their work.
Only ASA members can serve as editors, trustees, or officers of the Society.
Only ASA members may present papers or commentaries at the annual meeting.
All divisional meetings now require that program participants be ASA members.
Only members can access the Members section of the new web site, which includes current and historic records of the ASA.
Only members can vote in elections for trustees and officers.

Green Membership

The American Society for Aesthetics Board of Trustees unanimously approved adding a "Green Membership" option, commencing on January 1, 2017. Features of the Green Membership option include:

All member benefits except any and all mailing of print materials, including JAAC, the ASA Newsletter, and any additional postal mailings during the green membership term;
Green members are able to access all JAAC issues in the Wiley On-Line Library (which commences with Vol. 59-2011) immediately upon publication; access to the Wiley On-Line Library is restricted to 100 pages/day;
Green members are able to access all current and archived issues of the ASA Newsletter on the ASA web site via the member log-in;
A reduction in dues ranging from $3/year (domestic) to $18/year (international). ♦ The switch to green membership can only occur at the end of a current member term on December 31. We regret that pro-rating existing memberships and providing rebates is not feasible for ASA. ♦ Membership renewals are available on the ASA site three months before expiration (October 1). ♦ We caution that persons who expect to need print copies of JAAC or the ASA Newsletter in the future should decline the green membership option. ASA will not be able to provide print copies to authors published in JAAC, whether articles, discussion essays, or reviews.


An international student currently pays $50/year ($35 dues + $15 international mailing surcharge). With a green membership, that student will pay only $32/year, total.

An international regular member currently pays $95/year ($80 dues + $15 international mailing surcharge). With a green membership, that member will pay only $77/year, total.

Charitable Contributions

The ASA is organized under the laws of Ohio as a nonprofit corporation. It has been ruled a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization by the United States Treasury Department, as an organization operated exclusively for educational purposes. Contributions, gifts, and bequests to the Society are deductible on Federal income tax returns, to the maximum extent allowed by law.

Officers and Trustees

President: Susan L. Feagin, Temple University (2021)
Vice President: David Davies, McGill University (2021)
Past President: Kathleen M. Higgins, University of Texas at Austin (2021)
Secretary-Treasurer: Julie C. Van Camp, California State University, Long Beach (2025)

María José Alcaraz León, University of Murcia (2021)
Eva M. Dadlez, Central Oklahoma University (2023)
John Gibson, University of Louisville (2021)
Keren Gorodeisky, Auburn University (2022)
Ted Gracyk, Minnesota State University ex officio (2023)
Jonathan Neufeld, College of Charleston (2021)
Charles Peterson, Jr., Oberlin College (2023)
Monique Roelofs, Hampshire College and Amherst College (2022)
Brian R. Soucek, University of California, Davis (2023)
Robert Stecker, Central Michigan University ex officio (2023)

Constitution and Bylaws

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

9/17/2020 » 9/18/2020
Virtual: Southern Aesthetics Workshop II

Featured Members
Halifu OsumareWinner of the 2019 Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics
Michael NewallWinner of the 2019 Outstanding Monograph Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal