Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Virtual: ASA 78th Annual Meeting
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

The 78th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Aesthetics will be held virtually November 9-14, 2020. More details will be forthcoming in the coming weeks.

 Export to Your Calendar 11/9/2020 to 11/14/2020
When: 11/09-11/14/2020
Where: Virtual Meeting
United States
Contact: C. Thi Nguyen

Online registration is available until: 11/16/2020
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

The 78th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Aesthetics will be held virtually the week of November 9-14, 2020.

The 81st Annual Meeting of the ASA will be held at the Hilton at National Airport November 15-18, 2023.

Program Schedule (9/1/2020)

Please note: all program times are EST



    • All program participants and all attendees are required to (1) be a current ASA member in 2020 and (2) pay the registration fee of $10 ($5 for full-time students or unemployed)
    • Be sure to log into the site first so it knows you meet the ASA membership requirement.
    • On-line registration (credit cards only): click red REGISTER button near the top of this page
    • Mail-in registration (checks in US Dollars only): mail in this form so it is postmarked no later than November 1, 2020. 
    • CANCELLATION: Those who registered prior to May 28 received 100% of their registration fee refunded with no processing surcharge. 

    Grupio app

    • Download the free app from the Apple Store or Google Playstore
    • If you already have the app, please uninstall and reinstall so you can access all the new features in 2020
    • Search for "aesthetics" and you will find the 2020 meeting
    • Abstracts for most sessions are included with each Session listing on the schedule
    • If the abstract for your session is missing or you would like to add a hand-out,. please send to
    • On your laptop: has the identical content
    • If you are interested in volunteering to be a commentator or chair, please contact the program chair at 

     If you pre-registered for the Washington, DC, meeting, the FCC luncheon, and/or the Diversity Committee luncheon, we made full refunds using the method of payment you originally used (credit card, bank wire, or paper check)


    The Board of Trustees of the American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that C. Thi Nguyen, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Utah Valley University, has accepted its invitation to serve as program chair for the 78th Annual meeting. Nguyen, the author of Games: Agency as Art (Oxford University Press, 2020), received his PhD from UCLA. UCLA. He previously served as chair of the ASA Diversity Committee and also served on the Program committee for the 2018 annual meeting.

    Program Committee: C. Thi Nguyen (Chair), Anthony Cross, Elizabeth Cantalemessa, Robbie Kubala, Adriana Clavel-Vasquez, James Haille III, Jonathan Weinberg, Erin Bradfield, Stephanie Patridge, Elizabeth Scarbrough, Sam Laio, Stephanie Ross, Jim Hamilton, Andrew Kania

    Arthur C. Danto Memorial Lecture: Joyce J. Scott will deliver the Arthur C. Danto Memorial Danto Lecture on Friday, November 13. She is known for her depictions in bead work of racially and politically charged subjects, drawing from several cultures, including Native American and African. She has said of her work, “I believe in messing with stereotypes. It’s important for me to use art in a manner that incites people to look and then carry something home—even if it’s subliminal." Her lecture will be presented on the virtual program. For more information: Click Here

    Presidential Lecture: ASA President Susan Feagin will deliver the Presidential Address at the virtual meeting.

    Peter Kivy Prize Winners: The winning papers will be presented on the virtual program.

    • Garry Hagberg, Bard College: “Kivy’s Mystery: Absolute Music and What the Formalist Can (or Could) Hear”
    • Jason Leddington, Bucknell University/University of Antwerp: "Sonic Pictures"
    • Bence Nanay, University of Antwerp: “Looking for Profundity (in all the wrong places)”

    Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards: The winning papers will be presented on the virtual program.

    • Christopher Jenkins, Oberlin College, "Aesthetics of Classical Music: Assimilation vs. Integration." 
    • Hannah Kim, Stanford University, "Music, Convention, and Sound Symbolism."

    Outstanding Student paper: Christian Kronsted, University of Memphis, “Catching the Ghost – What House Dance Teaches us about Expert Cognition and Creativity.” Renee Conroy, Purdue University, Northwest, will provide the commentary at the virtual Annual Meeting.

    Irene H. Chayes Travel Grants: Although there will be no travel to this meeting, we want to recognize the persons who had been selected for these grants.

    • Larissa Berger, University ofSiegen
    • Kathrine Cuccuru, Sussex University
    • Ruth Curry, Northwestern University
    • Nils-Hens Stear, Uppsala University

    Student Travel Grants: Although there will be no travel to this meeting, we want to recognize the persons who had been selected for these grants.

    • Shannon Brick, CUNY-Graduate Center
    • Jordan Daniels, Emory University
    • Patrick Grafton-Cardwell, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
    • Octavion Ion, University of Toronto
    • Jordan Kokot, Boston University
    • Christian Kronsted, University of Memphis
    • Jeremy Page, Uppsala University
    • Nathan Smith, Duke University
    • Rebecca Wallbank, Uppsala University  

    Feminist Caucus and Diversity Committee Luncheons

    • These committee meetings will be rescheduled as part of the virtual meeting. 
    • CANCELLATION: If you pre-registered for these luncheons prior to May 28, we provided full refunds.
    Mentoring Breakfast:
    • The mentoring committee has decided against holding a virtual meeting.
    • They will be sending a questionnaire to assess interests later in the year.
    • All persons interested in being a mentor or mentee are welcome to participate in this project. 

    Policies on Discrimination, Harassment, and Respectful Behavior

    The revised ASA Policies (effective July 12, 2019) will be in effect for this meeting. The ASA Ombudsperson, Jeanette Bicknell, will be available throughout the meeting.

    Policies for Accessibility at ASA Meetings

    Policies on Meeting Cancellations and Registration Refunds

    The ASA Board of Trustees adopted policies on meeting cancellations and registration refunds which went into effect in 2018. The policies can be found here

    Please direct any questions to the Secretary-Treasurer at

    more Meetings

    10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
    Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

    10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
    Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

    Featured Members
    Sherri IrvinWinner: 30th Anniversary FCC Essay Prize; Trustee 2009-12; Program Chair for 2016 ASA Annual Meeting
    Michael NewallWinner of the 2019 Outstanding Monograph Prize

    Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal