Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: Humanities

ASA-sponsored faculty at 2016 UCSD Summer Program for Women in Philosophy

Wednesday, November 25, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The ASA Board of Trustees has approved funding for an ASA-sponsored faculty member at the 2016 University of California San Diego Summer Program in Philosophy for Women June 19-July 2, 2016. In 2015, the ASA-sponsored faculty member was Anne Eaton, University of Illinois-Chicago. Applications are now welcome to be the 2016 ASA-sponsored faculty member.

The ASA-sponsored instructor will teach a two-week intensive course on any area of aesthetics to the undergraduate women majoring in philosophy at the Program, who will be selected from national applications. The instructor also will be available to provide informal mentoring and career counseling to the undergraduate women in attendance. The instructor will be expected to provide a reading list for the participants by mid-April for the course she will teach, so participants can complete the reading before the Program.

The instructor will receive a $2500 honorarium, plus travel and accommodations at UCSD for the program. The SPWP is eager to provide role models in the profession at both junior and senior levels of experience, and the ASA welcome applications from all levels of experience. Instruction is wide-ranging, as the SPWP directors wish to encourage women to pursue all areas of philosophy and not feel constrained to any particular specialty or approach. As the other instructor in 2016 is expected to specialize in ethics and philosophy of law, applicants with expertise in metaphysics, ontology, and identity of the arts and/or history of philosophy are especially welcome. Information on the 2015 program is here.

Applicants to be the ASA instructor must be current members of the ASA. Applicants should send a current CV (or URL of a current CV) and 500-word statement of the course she would like to teach. These should be sent by e-mail no later than January 15, 2016, to Julie Van Camp, Secretary-Treasurer at Inquiries are welcome. The ASA review committee will include the ASA President, Secretary-Treasurer, Chair of the Diversity Committee, and Chair of the Feminist Caucus Committee. A decision is expected no later than February 1.

For more information on all ASA-funded opportunities.

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

6/5/2020 » 6/8/2020
Virtual Aesthetics Day: North American Kant Society

Featured Members
Anita Silvers(1940-2019) 1975 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Shelby J. MoserASA Newsletter Co-editor

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal