Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Election for New Trustees Has Begun

Monday, December 4, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

Voting has begun for the election of three new trustees for the American Society for Aesthetics. Voting is being conducted on the ASA web site from December 4, 2017 – January 3, 2018.

All current members of ASA are eligible to vote by logging into the web site, looking for the “Members” tab in the upper-right, and clicking the “Trustee elections” sub-menu.

As provided in the ASA By-laws, Article VII, the current Board of Trustees has nominated six ASA members to stand for election, and one additional nomination was received from members of the Society. The nominees are: María José Alcaraz León, Hanne Appelqvist, Christopher Bartel, Saul Fisher, John Gibson, Keren Gorodeisky, and Jonathan A. Neufeld. The three trustees elected will serve for three-year terms (February 1, 2018 - January 31, 2021).

Results will be announced as soon as possible after voting closes January 3, 2018.

The candidates for trustee (elect three):

María José Alcaraz León is currently Associate Professor at the Department of Philosophy at the University of Murcia (Spain). Her main field of research is Aesthetics and Art Theory. She received her Ph D at the University of Murcia with a dissertation on Arthur Danto's theory of art. Her research has focused on issues related to Art Theory, Art and Morality, Emotion and Fiction and Aesthetic Justification. She is part of the Aesthetics and Theory of Arts group in Murcia ( She’s been a member of the ASA since 2008 and has attended and given papers at some of the annual conferences. She has also served the ASA as a member of the program committee in 2011 and has been a regular reviewer of the JAAC.

Hanne Appelqvist is Docent of Theoretical Philosophy at the University of Helsinki and Collegium Researcher at the Turku Institute for Advanced Studies, Finland. She received her PhD from Columbia University in 2007. She is the author of Wittgenstein and the Conditions of Musical Communication (Acta Philosophica Fennica 2008) and editor of Wittgenstein and the Limits of Language (Routledge, forthcoming). Her work on Wittgenstein, Kant, and philosophy of music has appeared in journals such as the British Journal of Aesthetics, the British Journal for the History of Philosophy, Metaphilosophy, and the History of Philosophy Quarterly. Currently, she is working on a monograph on the relation between Wittgenstein’s philosophy and Kant’s Third Critique. Appelqvist is also the leader of a three-year project The Cognitive Relevance of Aesthetics, funded by the Finnish Cultural Foundation.

Christopher Bartel is Associate Professor of Philosophy at Appalachian State University. He received his degrees from King’s College London (PhD), University of Bristol (MA), and Berklee College of Music (BM). His research interests primarily lie within aesthetics with a special focus on philosophy of music and philosophy of video games. He has published articles in the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, the British Journal of Aesthetics, the European Journal of Philosophy, and Ethics and Information Technology. Additionally, Chris has co-organized two conferences (Video Games and Virtual Ethics, London, July 2017; and Music and Mind, Columbia University, March 2006), acted as co-chair of the ASA Eastern Division Meeting (2011 and 2012), and was the founding editor of the Postgraduate Journal of Aesthetics for the British Society of Aesthetics.

Saul Fisher is Visiting Associate Professor of Philosophy and Executive Director for Grants and Academic Initiatives at Mercy College.  He received his PhD in Philosophy from the CUNY Graduate Center, MA in Philosophy from Rice University, and AB in Political Science and Philosophy from Columbia University.  Previously, Fisher was Associate Provost and Adjunct Associate Professor of Philosophy at Hunter College; Director of Fellowship Programs of the American Council of Learned Societies; and program officer at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.  Fisher’s research is focused on philosophy of architecture, for which he was awarded a Graham Foundation grant (2009) and which includes publications in JAAC and the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  He is also pursuing a research program on developmental aesthetics.  He has reviewed for JAACserved on the ASA 2015 Annual Meeting Program Committee, and serves on the ASA Diversity Committee, currently chairing the subcommittee on institutional relationships.

John Gibson is Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Commonwealth Center for Humanities at the University of Louisville. He has been a member of the ASA since 2001, and his service has included co-chairing the 2013 and 2014 meetings of the Eastern ASA, organizing the ASA session at the Central APA (2011 to 2013), serving on the program committee for the 2006 and 2016 annual meetings of the ASA, and acting as the philosophy of literature advisor to the Eastern APA (2010 to 2014). A philosopher of literature at heart with broad interests in the history of aesthetics, he is the author of Fiction and the Weave of Life (2007) and is completing a book titled Poetry, Metaphor, and Meaning, both for Oxford. He recently edited The Philosophy of Poetry (Oxford, 2015) and co-edited, with Noël Carroll,The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Literature (2015). 

Keren Gorodeisky is an Associate Professor at Auburn University. Her work on Kant, aesthetic pleasure, aesthetic value, aesthetic rationality, and Romantic Aesthetics has appeared in journals such as theJournal of Philosophy, the BJA and others, in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, and in collections published by OUP and CUP. These days she is writing a book on the significance of Kant’s notion of aesthetic judgment, focusing on this judgment’s logical form and sui generis type of rationality. For this book project, Gorodeisky received the Philip Quinn Fellowship from the National Humanities Center. Gorodeisky has been attending the annual meeting of the ASA every year since 2007, and has served on the program committee of this meeting twice in the past five years. She has refereed numerous papers in aesthetics for journals such as the JAAC, BJA and others, and has reviewed applications for fellowships in the field. Currently, she is the vice-president of the Society for German Idealism and Romanticism.

Jonathan A. Neufeld is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Lightsey Humanities Chair at the College of Charleston with affiliate appointments in the departments of Music and Arts Management. He received his Ph. D. in Philosophy from Columbia University, M.A. in Philosophy from King’s College, London, and a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Minnesota. He specializes in philosophy of music, and aesthetics and politics. Topics of his publications include the ontology of music, interpretation and performance, disagreement, Benjamin Britten’s opera Billy Budd, and aesthetic disobedience. Active in undergraduate education in aesthetics, Neufeld is the organizer of the Aesthetics WorkGroup at the College of Charleston, which hosted the first Southeastern Student Conference in Aesthetics in 2017. He is the incoming Book Review Editor of the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism.

more Meetings

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Eastern Meeting

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

Featured Members
Garry HagbergASA 1997 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Derek MatraversASA Trustee 2008-11; 2017 Richard Wollheim speaker; Program Chair 2014 Annual Mtg

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal