Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Announces Election of New Trustees

Thursday, January 4, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce the election of three new trustees. They will assume office on February 1, 2018, and will serve three-year terms through January 31, 2021. 

María José Alcaraz León is currently Associate Professor at the Department of Philosophy at the University of Murcia (Spain). Her main field of research is Aesthetics and Art Theory. She received her Ph D at the University of Murcia with a dissertation on Arthur Danto's theory of art. Her research has focused on issues related to Art Theory, Art and Morality, Emotion and Fiction and Aesthetic Justification. She is part of the Aesthetics and Theory of Arts group in Murcia ( She’s been a member of the ASA since 2008 and has attended and given papers at some of the annual conferences. She has also served the ASA as a member of the program committee in 2011 and has been a regular reviewer of the JAAC.

John Gibson is Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Commonwealth Center for Humanities at the University of Louisville. He has been a member of the ASA since 2001, and his service has included co-chairing the 2013 and 2014 meetings of the Eastern ASA, organizing the ASA session at the Central APA (2011 to 2013), serving on the program committee for the 2006 and 2016 annual meetings of the ASA, and acting as the philosophy of literature advisor to the Eastern APA (2010 to 2014). A philosopher of literature at heart with broad interests in the history of aesthetics, he is the author of Fiction and the Weave of Life (2007) and is completing a book titled Poetry, Metaphor, and Meaning, both for Oxford. He recently edited The Philosophy of Poetry (Oxford, 2015) and co-edited, with Noël Carroll,The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Literature (2015). 

Jonathan A. Neufeld is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Lightsey Humanities Chair at the College of Charleston with affiliate appointments in the departments of Music and Arts Management. He received his Ph. D. in Philosophy from Columbia University, M.A. in Philosophy from King’s College, London, and a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Minnesota. He specializes in philosophy of music, and aesthetics and politics. Topics of his publications include the ontology of music, interpretation and performance, disagreement, Benjamin Britten’s opera Billy Budd, and aesthetic disobedience. Active in undergraduate education in aesthetics, Neufeld is the organizer of the Aesthetics WorkGroup at the College of Charleston, which hosted the first Southeastern Student Conference in Aesthetics in 2017. He is the incoming Book Review Editor of the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism.

We are very grateful for the service of three trustees, Emily Brady, A.W. Eaton, and James O. Young, who complete their terms on January 31, 2018.

In December 2018, the ASA will elect two new trustees and a new Vice-President (who will succeed to the Presidency). Persons interested in standing for election next year should contact the

more Meetings

3/20/2020 » 3/21/2020
2020 ASA Pacific Meeting

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Dabney W. TownsendPast Secretary-Treasurer & Executive Director
Michel-Antoine A. XhignesseCo-editor of ASA Newsletter 2018-2021

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal