Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Announces 2018 Prize Winners

Tuesday, July 31, 2018  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics announced the winners of five prizes at the Business Meeting, October 13, 2018, at the 76th Annual Meeting in Toronto:

IRENE H. CHAYES NEW VOICES AWARDS:  Emmanuel Ordóñez Angulo, University College, London, and Daniel Wilson, University of Auckland, New Zealand

OUTSTANDING MONOGRAPH PRIZE: Yuriko Saito (RISD), Aesthetics of the Familiar: Everyday Life and Worldmaking (2018)

TED COHEN PRIZE: Terry F. Robinson (University of Toronto): "Eighteenth-Century Connoisseurship and the Female Body," in Oxford Handbooks Online (2017)

SELMA JEANNE COHEN PRIZE IN DANCE AESTHETICS: Anna Pakes (Roehampton University), "Reenactment, Dance Identity, and Historical Fictions," in The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Reenactment, Mark Franko, editor, (Oxford University Press, 2017)

OUTSTANDING STUDENT PAPER PRIZE: Elizabeth Cantalamessa (University of Miami), for her paper, “Art By Fiat? Copyright, Ontology, and Metalinguistic Negotiation.”

For information on prizes to be awarded in 2019, please see the ASA web site (News==>Grants and Prizes)

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Jonathan NeufeldASA Trustee 2018-2021; JAAC Book Review Editor 2018-2023; 2017 ASA Annual Meeting Program Chair
Jason LeddingtonPeter Kivy Prize winner & Winner of the 2015 ASA/JAAC John Fisher Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal