Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Kathryn Wojtkiewicz Wins ASA Dissertation Fellowship for 2019-20

Tuesday, March 19, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that Kathryn Wojtkiewicz (City University of New York-Graduate Center) has won the ASA Dissertation Fellowship for 2019-20. She was selected from among seven applicants by a review committee of senior ASA members.

Her dissertation, "The Social Responsibility of Creation: Fiction Creators and their Hermeneutical Responsibilities,” explores the ways in which narrative fiction is well-placed to combat and deconstruct harmful stereotypes, whether by gender, race, sexuality, religion, and so on. She aims to develop a positive ethical idea of creative responsibility connected to both aesthetics and virtue theory. Wojtkiewicz received her B.A. from Manhattan College. 

This is the fifth year for the ASA Dissertation Fellowship. Previous winners:

2018-19: Caitlin Dolan, University of California, Berkeley
2017-18: Madeleine Ransom, University of British Columbia
2016-17: Marilynn Johnson, Graduate Center, City University of New York
2015-16: David Johnson, Northwestern University

The deadline for application for the 2020-2021 fellowship will be January 1, 2020.  Guidelines

more Meetings

5/10/2019 » 5/11/2019
Aesthetic Normativity: A Workshop

5/10/2019 » 5/11/2019
Salish Sea Aesthetics Workshop

Featured Members
Derek MatraversASA Trustee 2008-11; 2017 Richard Wollheim speaker; Program Chair 2014 Annual Mtg
Sarah WorthASA Trustee 2013-16 & ASA speaker for 2018 summer institutes

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal