Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Aesthetic Normativity Workshop Schedule Announced

Wednesday, April 10, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The Schedule has been announced for the Aesthetic Normativity Workshop at Harvard University, May 10-11, 2019. The Workshop is funded by the American Society for Aesthetics, the Department of Philosophy at Harvard, and the New York Institute of Philosophy. Samantha Matherne, Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Harvard, has organized the Workshop, which is free and open to the public.

The Workshop will bring together philosophers working in aesthetics with philosophers working in other areas, especially such normative areas as ethics, meta-ethics, political philosophy, and law. The format for the workshop will emphasize collaboration. Each speaker will be paired with a commentator, each reflecting the blending of multiple perspectives on the relevant topic. 

Friday, May 10th (Adolphus Busch Hall, Lower Level Conference Room):

1:30-1:40: Welcome

1:40-2: Opening Remarks: Mapping the Space of Aesthetic Normativity: Samantha Matherne (Harvard University)

2-4: Alex King (SUNY Buffalo), Commentator: Errol Lord (University of Pennsylvania), Chair: Anthony Cross (Texas State University)

15-minute break

4:15-6:15: Brian Soucek (UC Davis), Commentator: Erin Kelly (Tufts), Chair: Julianne Chung (University of Louisville)

Saturday, May 11th (Thompson Room, Barker Center):

10-12: Hannah Ginsborg (UC Berkeley), Commentator: Francey Russell (Yale), Chair: Wiebke Deimling (Clark University)

Lunch 12-1

1-3: Rob Hopkins (NYU) and Nick Riggle (University of San Diego), Commentator: Caitlin Dolan (UC Berkeley), Chair: E. Hande Tuna (Brown University)

15-minute break

3:15-5:15: Alva Noë (UC Berkeley), Commentator: Becca Rothfeld (Harvard University); Chair: Mohan Matthen (University of Toronto)

15-minute break

5:30-7: Panel: Jenny Judge (NYU), Antonia Peacocke (NYU), Nico Sillins (Cornell), Brad Skow (MIT); Moderator: Robbie Kubala (Columbia) 


more Meetings

3/20/2020 » 3/21/2020
2020 ASA Pacific Meeting

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Sarah WorthASA Trustee 2013-16 & ASA speaker for 2018 summer institutes
Michael Krausz1991 Annual Meeting Program Chair

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal