Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Announces Irene H. Chayes Travel Grant Winners for 2019 Annual Meeting

Friday, July 5, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |
The American Society for Aesthetics is very pleased to announce the winners of the Irene H. Chayes Travel Grants for the 2019 meeting: Adriana Clavel-Vasquez, Lisa Giombini, Panos Paris, Matteo Ravasio, and Nils-Hennes Stear .

Commencing in 2018, these travel grants of $1,250 each support travel to the annual meeting for persons with papers accepted for the program who have no other access to travel funds at their institution(s) during the academic year.

To be eligible for a Chayes travel grant for the 2020 annual meeting:
  • You must be a member of ASA in good standing and you must register for the meeting.
  • Eligible persons: faculty members (including lecturers, adjuncts, and part-timers) & independent scholars.

In addition, each of the three ASA Divisions has $1000 to distribute to presenters without access to travel funds. In 2019, the following presenters received these grants.

  • ASA Pacific meeting: Sarah Hegenbart, Corey Reed, Daniel Shaw, Emine Tuna
  • ASA Eastern meeting: Kimberly Alvarado, Abel Franco, Natallia S. Schnaber, Elias Solis, Lewis Wang, Kathryn Wojtkiewicz
  • ASA Rocky Mountain meeting: Tad Bratkowski, Stafford Davis, Nathan Smith

These awards have been made possible by the generosity of a large bequest from the estate of Irene H. Chayes to the American Society for Aesthetics.  Irene Hendry Chayes (1916-2014) received her B.A. and M.A. from New York University and her Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. She taught literature at the University of Maryland, Hollins College, and SUNY Binghamton.

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

7/10/2020 » 7/12/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Rocky Mountain Division

Featured Members
Anna Christina RibeiroASA Trustee 2017-20 & ASA speaker at 2016 Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy
Michael Fischer2020 Winner of the Ted Cohen Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal