Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Trustees Approve 30th FCC Anniversary Prize for 2020 meeting

Tuesday, September 10, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that the Board of Trustees has approved the establishment of a one-time prize in 2020 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the founding of the ASA Feminist Caucus Committee in 1990, by giving recognition to a published feminist aesthetics essay.

The prize will be $1000 plus $1250 for travel to the annual meeting in 2020 for one person whose winning published essay will be commented upon by 2-3 scholars at a special panel session (in addition to the annual Feminist Caucus Committee session); if appropriate, Honorable Mention will be awarded to the second-best essay but this award includes no prize money. The prize is named the 30th Anniversary Feminist Caucus Committee Essay Prize.

Eligibility is restricted to an essay published in English from April 1, 2017-March 30, 2020 in a venue with peer review recognized by the scholarly community and that is permanently available to the interested scholarly community of students and researchers, including but not limited to the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, British Journal of Aesthetics, and HYPATIA: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy. “Article” nominations may also be an original, previously unpublished, chapter or essay in an anthology; co-authored articles are eligible. (Collections of previously published work, anthologies of work by multiple authors, and translations are not eligible).

Eligibility is restricted to persons who are ASA members as of the date of the submission deadline.

Essays will be judged based on significance of the topic of issue, quality of the research, quality of the writing, originality, and contribution to the feminist literature within aesthetics—broadly construed—that focuses on gender, race, class, ethnicity, and/or sexual preference/identity; the essay may be and is encouraged to be multidisciplinary

Selection of the winning paper will be made by a committee of three ASA members, appointed by the ASA President.



SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: PDFs of the published article, as it appeared in print, should be sent electronically to

Funds for the prize have been generously donated to the ASA by Dr. Peg Brand Weiser, long-time member of the ASA and the FCC. She has served as a Trustee (twice), on program committees (chairing Pacific in 1992), and as local organizer, starting RMD in 1985. She was a founding member of the Feminist Caucus in 1990 and the first appointed chair of the Feminist Caucus Committee 2014-2017. With Carolyn Korsmeyer, she co-edited the first feminist special issue of JAAC—“Feminism and Traditional Aesthetics”—in Fall 1990. 



more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

6/5/2020 » 6/8/2020
Virtual Aesthetics Day: North American Kant Society

Featured Members
Anna Christina RibeiroASA Trustee 2017-20 & ASA speaker at 2016 Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy
Shelby J. MoserASA Newsletter Co-editor

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal