Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA to Sponsor Speakers at 2020 Diversity Institutes

Wednesday, November 13, 2019  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announced that the ASA Board of Trustees has approved up to a total of $5,000 to support travel and honoraria for ASA-sponsored speakers at three diversity programs in the summer of 2020. The programs are the Summer Program for Women in Philosophy at UC San Diego, the Summer Immersion Program in Philosophy at Brown University and the Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy;

The speakers will be selected through an open call for applications to ASA members, in which each indicates for which institutes they would like to be considered, with a brief statement of the proposed presentation. The selection of finalists will be made by an ad hoc committee appointed by the ASA President, with representation from the leadership of the Feminist Caucus and the Diversity Committee. The final selection of speakers is made by the institute directors.

This will be the sixth year in which ASA has sponsored a speaker at the San Diego and Rutgers programs and the fifth year for ASA sponsorship at the Brown Institute. ASA's participation promotes the Society's interest in diversity in the profession and also provides an excellent opportunity to introduce aesthetics to talented undergraduates who, for the most part, have had no experience with aesthetics.

A Call for Applications will be announced in early December, with a submission deadline of February 1, 2020.

In previous years, many ASA members have been sponsored by ASA to make presentations on aesthetics at these institutes: Sondra Bacharach, Julianne Chung, A.W. Eaton, Jane Forsey, James Haile, Jr., Shen-Yi Liao, Anna Ribeiro, Mary Beth Willard, Sarah Worth.

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

9/17/2020 » 9/18/2020
Virtual: Southern Aesthetics Workshop II

Featured Members
Hannah H. KimWinner of the 2020 Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award
Maria Jose Alcaraz-LeonASA Trustee 2018-2021

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal