Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

David Collins Awarded ASA Dissertation Fellowship

Tuesday, March 31, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that David Collins (McGill University) has won the ASA Dissertation Fellowship for 2020-2021. He was selected from among a very competitive group of applicants by a review committee of senior ASA members.

His dissertation, “Art as Creative Discovery: A Synthesized Processual Account of Art
and its Implications for Art’s Cognitive, Moral, and Social Value,” draws on work by Collingwood, Merleau-Ponty, Dewey, Beauvoir, and Bergson. He received his BFA and MFA from York University and an MA in Philosophy from Ryerson University.

This is the sixth year for the ASA Dissertation Fellowship. Previous winners:

  • 2019-20: Kathryn Wojtkiewicz, Graduate Center-City University of New York
  • 2018-19: Caitlin Dolan, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2017-18: Madeleine Ransom, University of British Columbia
  • 2016-17: Marilynn Johnson, Graduate Center-City University of New York
  • 2015-16: David Johnson, Northwestern University

The deadline for application for the 2021-2020 fellowship will be January 1, 2021.  Guidelines

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

6/5/2020 » 6/8/2020
Virtual Aesthetics Day: North American Kant Society

Featured Members
Gary IsemingerASA Trustee for 2014-17
Halifu OsumareWinner of the 2019 Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal