Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Salish Sea Aesthetics Workshop II Postponed to 2021

Tuesday, June 23, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The Salish Sea Aesthetics Workshop II, originally scheduled for November 2020, has been postponed to November 12-14, 2021. The meeting will be held at the Marriott in Victoria, British Columbia in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Western Canadian Philosophical Association.

The American Society for Aesthetics is providing $2,550 USD in partial support of the meeting. Project directors are David Friedell (University of British Columbia), James O. Young (University of Victoria) and Michel-Antoine Xhignesse (Capilano University). 

The Aesthetics Workshop will consist of eleven session over the three days of the Meeting. The workshop builds on the Salish Sea Aesthetics Workshop in 2019 at the University of British Columbia, also supported by ASA, and furthers the establishment of a regional forum for aestheticians in the region of the Salish Sea. The region (sometimes referred to as the Pacific Northwest) stretches roughly from Portland, Oregon to British Columbia. Salish Sea is the indigenous name for the region.

The updated call for papers and submission deadline will be announced in the near future. All papers will be reviewed anonymously, with final decisions on the aesthetics papers by the three workshop organizers. Commentators will be recruited for each paper, with a special focus on promoting interdisciplinary dialogue with other areas of philosophy. 

ASA funding will also support a prize of $250 CDN for the best student essay in aesthetics. ASA membership will not be required for aesthetics papers for the workshop, but will be required for eligibility for the essay prize. 

As more information becomes available, it will be posted on the ASA web site, the ASA Newsletter, and other venues.

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

9/17/2020 » 9/18/2020
Virtual: Southern Aesthetics Workshop II

Featured Members
Shelby J. MoserASA Newsletter Co-editor
Robert HopkinsASA Trustee 2017-20

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal