Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Schedule Announced for Southern Aesthetics Workshop II

Thursday, August 27, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The schedule has been announced for the ASA (Virtual) Southern Division Aesthetics Workshop II September 17-18, 2020.

Schedule (as of 8/27/2020)

There will be no registration fee and the workshop will be open to anyone who registers.

To register:

The workshop will be pre-read and conducted online (via Zoom) on the afternoons of Thursday, September 17 and Friday, September 18.

Keynote speakers:

Dr. Regina Bradley is a writer and researcher of African American Life and Culture with an emphasis on the contemporary American South. She was a Nasir Jones Hip Hop Fellow (Harvard University, Spring 2016) and is the Assistant Professor of English and African Diaspora Studies at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, GA. Dr. Bradley's expertise and research interests include 20th and 21st Century African American Literature, hip hop culture, race and the contemporary U.S. South, and sound studies. She is the author of the forthcoming book Chronicling Stankonia: the Rise of the Hip Hop South (UNC Press) Thursday, September 17-1:00 pm EDT

Hanna Raskin is the food editor and chief critic of The Post and Courier, the South’s oldest daily newspaper, and winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for public service. She has been nominated for five James Beard Awards, including the Jonathan Gold Local Voice (formerly Local Impact) award, which she won in its inaugural year. Raskin has also been honored by the South Carolina Press Association, Association for Alternative Newsmedia and the Society for Features Journalism, which in 2020 awarded her its top prizes in Food Criticism and Food Writing. She serves as president of the Association of Food Journalists. Friday, September 18-1:00 pm EDT

Invited speakers

Paloma Atencia-Linares (UNAM)
James Haile III (University of Rhode Island)
Anna Christina Ribeiro (Texas Tech University)
Nils-Hennes Stear (Auburn)

The 2020 Conference Committee for this workshop includes: John Gibson (University of Louisville), Madeline Martin-Seaver (Auburn University), Aaron Meskin (University of Georgia), Jonathan Neufeld (The College of Charleston), James Shelley (Auburn University), and Elizabeth Scarbrough (Florida International University).

The persons responsible for continuing oversight of the Southern Division are Madeline Martin-Seaver, Aaron Meskin, James Shelley, and Elizabeth Scarbrough.

The Workshop is co-sponsored by the American Society for Aesthetics, the University of Georgia Department of Philosophy, and the Scott and Heather Kleiner Lecture Series

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Alexandra KingSpeaker at UCSD summer diversity institute in 2020
GEMMA A. MANRESAASA Facebook Manager & Chair, FCC 2019-20

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal