Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Ted Cohen Prize
Share |

Revised August 15, 2017

Deadline: May 1

To honor the enormous contributions of Ted Cohen to aesthetics and the American Society for Aesthetics, Andy Austin Cohen and the ASA established in 2014 a $1000 annual prize "to recognize writing that is clear, graceful, and unencumbered by jargon or academic clichés. It should examine serious problems in aesthetics while also giving pleasure to the reader." In memory of Ted, his wife Andy Austin Cohen has generously funded this prize.

The 2020 prize winner will be selected by a committee of three members appointed by the President of the ASA and will be notified by July 1, 2020. The award will be announced publicly during the annual meeting of the ASA in Washington, DC, November 11-14, 2020. The winner will be encouraged but not required to attend the meeting, and travel expenses to the meeting will be provided. The prize may not be awarded if, in the opinion of the judges, no nomination of sufficient merit and appropriateness is received.

The ASA selection committee welcomes published work of distinction published between May 1, 2019 - April 30, 2020. Eligible works are articles or chapters/sections of books published in English. Chapters/sections of books should be of length comparable to a journal article. Publication is understood to mean publication in venues with peer review recognized by the scholarly community and that are permanently available to the interested scholarly community of students and researchers. Eligible publication includes reputable on-line journals. Nominations will be judged based on adherence to the standards of writing in the statement above. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominees must be ASA members at the time of nomination.
Only one nomination per year will be accepted.

Ted Cohen, photo University of Chicago.

Submissions should be directed c/o Julie Van Camp, ASA Secretary-Treasurer, at 1550 Larimer St. #644, Denver, CO 80202-1602, or The nominated article or book chapter/section must be submitted in full. Electronic submissions are strongly preferred, in PDF format replicating the original publication. If PDF submission is not possible, then three copies of articles or book chapter/section must be submitted. The deadline for receipt of nominations is May 1, 2020.

Gifts in honor of Ted Cohen to the American Society for Aesthetics are welcome at any time. They may be made on-line on ASA Donation site..

Previous winners of the Ted Cohen Prize

2019: Julian Dodd (University of Manchester): "What 4'33" Is" in Australasian Journal of Philosophy 96:4 (629-642).

2018: Terry F. Robinson (University of Toronto): "Eighteenth-Century Connoisseurship and the Female Body," in Oxford Handbooks Online (2017)

2017: Steven D. Hales (Bloomsburg University): "Audiophile Aesthetics," American Philosophical Quarterly 54:2 (April 2017), 195-208.

2016: Anna Christina Soy Ribeiro (Texas Tech University), "The Spoken and the Written—An Ontology of Poems," in The Philosophy of Poetry, John Gibson, ed. (Oxford University Press, 2015), pp. 127-148.

2015: Carolyn Korsmeyer (University of Buffalo): "The Triumph of Time: Romanticism Redux," JAAC 72:4 (Fall 2014)

more Meetings

4/3/2020 » 4/4/2020
POSTPONED: Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

4/17/2020 » 4/18/2020
CANCELLED: 2020 ASA Eastern Meeting

Featured Members
Dabney W. TownsendPast Secretary-Treasurer & Executive Director
Monique RoelofsASA Trustee 2019-22 & Winner of the 2016 Curriculum Diversity Grant

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal