Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award
Share |
  • The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce that the Board of Trustees has unanimously approved continuation of the Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards for future annual meetings of the ASA.

    The awards were established as a one-time experiment for the 2018 meetings, at the request of the ASA Diversity Committee, to nourish and sustain an ethos of inclusivity in all aspects of the Society's activities, and in the discipline of aesthetics more broadly. Because of the success in encouraging imaginative papers from new and continuing members, the Board approved continuation of the award program.

    Applicants should demonstrate the following characteristics:
    1. The author's understanding of the barriers that lead to the underrepresentation of women, ethnic and racial minorities, non-gender-conforming individuals, persons with disabilities, persons from low-socio-economic-status backgrounds, and other members of groups historically underrepresented in higher education careers. Evidence of this understanding may be drawn from the author's life experiences and educational background, and should be explained in a short personal statement.
    2. The author's capacity to apply their understanding of the conditions of underrepresentation to their research. Applicants should demonstrate this critical perspective by, for example, proposing research topics that pertain in a substantial way to the artistic production or aesthetic experience of underrepresented groups.

    Preference is given to applicants who are students, faculty on fixed-term, non-tenure ­stream contracts, or not in academic employment.

    The next award recipients will receive $1,000 plus a travel grant to present their work 2021 Annual Meeting in Montreal, November 17-20, 2021. Paper submissions will be reviewed anonymously with all other papers for the meeting by the ASA program committee, without any information on their request for the New Voices Award or other support. In addition to submitting a paper, persons who wish to be considered should submit a letter to the Co-Chairs of the Diversity Committee (Paloma Atencia Linares and Nils-Hennes Stear) addressing Items 1 and 2 (above). Send the letter to Eligibility for the Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award will be reviewed by the chair of the ASA diversity committee, based on this letter. The final selection will be made jointly by the Chairs of the Program Committee and the Diversity Committee. The submission deadlines for both the paper submission and the essay submission will be March 1, 2021.

    These awards have been made possible by the generosity of a large bequest from the estate of Irene H. Chayes to the American Society for Aesthetics. Irene Hendry Chayes (1916-2014) received her B.A. and M.A. from New York University and her Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. She taught literature at the University of Maryland, Hollins College, and SUNY Binghamton.
  • Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards: Winners

    2020: Christopher Jenkins, Oberlin College

    2020: Hannah Kim, Stanford University

    2019: Shannon Brick, CUNY Graduate Center

    2019: Zoe Cunliffe, CUNY Graduate Center

    2018: Emmanuel Ordóñez Angulo, University College, London

    2018: Daniel Wilson, University of Auckland

    more Meetings

    10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
    Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

    11/9/2020 » 11/14/2020
    Virtual: ASA 78th Annual Meeting

    Featured Members
    Stephen J. DaviesASA President 2007-09; ASA 2000 Annual Meeting Program Chair; ASA trustee 2007-09
    Halifu OsumareWinner of the 2019 Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics

    Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal