Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
The 2021 John Fisher Memorial Prize
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics sponsors the biennial John Fisher Memorial Prize in Aesthetics. The prize is awarded to an original essay in aesthetics, created in memory of the late John Fisher, editor of The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism from 1973 to 1988.

The Prize is offered to foster the development of new voices and talent in the field of aesthetics

The regulations for the competition are as follows:

i)  Amount.  The amount of the Prize is $1,000.

ii)  Deadline. The deadline for the next opportunity will be 15 January 2021.

iii)  Eligibility.  The Prize is intended to foster the development of new talent in the field of aesthetics. The competition is limited to those persons who have completed the terminal degree in their field and are in the early stages of participation in their profession. Persons in doubt about their qualifications are encouraged to consult the editor of JAAC in advance ( Entrants should include with their entry a statement indicating how they qualify. Entrants must be members of the ASA.

iv)  Essay Content and Length.  The essay may be on any topic in aesthetics understood according to the characterization on the masthead of JAAC. The essay should be a maximum of 7,500 words. Entries will also be considered for publication in JAAC, unless the entrant requests otherwise.

v)  Judging.  The judges for the Prize are drawn from members of the JAAC Editorial Board by the editors in consultation with the Board. (The Prize may not be awarded if, in the opinion of the judges, no entry of sufficient merit is received.)

vi)  Presentation.  The biennial winning essay will be published in JAAC. The author will also have the opportunity to read the paper at the annual meeting of the American Society for Aesthetics that follows announcement of a winner.

vii)  Submission Requirements.  Submissions may not have been previously published or under consideration for publication elsewhere. Upload submissions to the JAAC online submission website, Submissions should include an abstract. Make sure the submission letter clearly identifies the paper as a submission for the John Fisher Memorial Prize, and include a statement of qualifications.

viii) Questions. Contact

Previous Fisher Prize winners

2019 Nemesio García-Carril Puy
2017 Emine Hande Tuna
2015 Jason Leddington
2013 Nick Diehl
2011 Karen Gover
2009 Michael Newall
2007 Barbara Gail Montero
2005 Sherri Irvin
2003 Sondra Bacharach
2001 Rachel Zuckert

more Meetings

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

11/9/2020 » 11/14/2020
Virtual: ASA 78th Annual Meeting

Featured Members
Shelby J. MoserASA Newsletter Co-editor
Moonyoung SongASA Postdoctoral Fellow 2019-2021

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal