Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
How we spread the news
Share |

You are invited to follow our Twitter account, and join our Facebook group.

Past lists

Up until September 1, 2015, Dominic McIver Lopes has maintained a moderated email list for the ASA,, for broadcasting news items of interest to scholars and students of aesthetics and the philosophy of art. These included calls for papers, conference announcements, new book announcements, and the like. Subcribers to the list could submit a news item for moderation by sending it to

Aesthetics-L was maintained on the Indiana University listserver by Dominic McIver Lopes between January 1998 and February 2008 as a mailing list for the exchange of ideas and information about aesthetics and philosophy of art. This site houses the Aesthetics-L archives. The Society is grateful to Indiana University for support in hosting Aesthetics-L.

A new incarnation of Aesthetics-L was set up by Kate Sullivan in July 2008. It is “a discussion forum devoted to all genres of art, and related philosophy. Pertinence is strongly encouraged, but the format is intentionally informal. The forum is intended to be an arena where old ideas can be reexamined, and inchoate new ideas can be tried and developed under the challenge of a lively give-and-take among informed members. The membership is unusually apt for an aesthetics forum because it comprises not only philosophy scholars but many practicing artists.” Subscription services and an archive are available on the list web site.

Aesthetics-L is the descendant of the ASA-L, created and maintained by Stan Godlovitch in the mid-1990s on behalf of the American Society for Aesthetics. In September 1995, Dominic McIver Lopes created the Aesthetics list on the majordomo server at Indiana University. Due to the popularity of the list and the consequent traffic on it, the majordomo list was replaced by Aesthetics-L on January 1, 1998.

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
CHRISTOPHER JENKINSWinner of the 2020 Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award
Halifu OsumareWinner of the 2019 Selma Jeanne Cohen Prize in Dance Aesthetics

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal