Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
2014 ASA Eastern Division Meeting
Share |

The 2014 Eastern Division Meeting was held at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel the weekend of March 28th-29th. In addition to the main conference there was also, for the third year in a row, a graduate conference organized by students from Temple, Villanova, and the University of Pennsylvania (March 30th). This event was supported by the Greater Philadelphia Philosophy Consortium and the ASA.

The meeting was jointly organized with the Monroe Beardsley Lecture, which was given at Temple’s Center City Campus on the evening of the 28th. This year’s Beardsley speaker was Richard Moran. Jesse Prinz gave the EASA plenary lecture. The conference hosted an invited panel, “Art in The Condition of Philosophy” with Michael Fried, Robert Pippin, and Kaja Silverman. There were several submitted panels, including “Politics, Spectacle, and Film Melodrama” with Gregg Horowitz, Lara Giordano, and Erin Bradfield, and “Perspectives on Hegel’s Aesthetics and Philosophy of Literature” with Dean Moyar, Lydia Moland, Martin Donougho, and Allen Speight.

The twelve sessions were evenly divided between historical and contemporary topics and featured papers from the European as well as analytic strands of aesthetics. There were sessions on Wittgenstein and Cavell, Shakespeare, Philosophy, Music and Ontology, Philosophy of the visual arts, Greek Philosophy, and other topics.

Speakers and panel Chairs came from Europe, Canada, and the United States and included faculty and graduate students alike.

A special thank goes to Temple graduate students for their continued assistance and help in making the Eastern Meeting a successful event. We would also like to thank David Clowney for his continued help with the conference, and to Alessandro Giovannelli for his technical support. Further, we would like to thank this year’s reviewers: Brady Bowman, Robert R. Clewis, Alice Crary, Robert Chodat, Eva Dadlez, Richard Eldridge, Jay Elliott, Andreas Elpidorou, Susan Feagin, Jonathan Gilmore, Margret Grebowicz, Robert Guay, Karen Gover, Theodore Gracyk, Espen Hammer, Leonardo Lisi, Jonathan Neufeld, Margaret Moore, Laura Ostaric, Nick Riggle, James Shelley, Martin Stone, Lina Steiner, Martha Woodruff, Sarah Worth.

The dates for the 2015 Eastern Meeting will be scheduled soon. Questions, suggestions, and comments should be directed to Kristin Boyce (, Margaret Moore, The University of Tennessee (, and Aili Bresnahan, The University of Dayton (

Kristin Boyce
Kristin Gjesdal
John Gibson

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Robert HopkinsASA Trustee 2017-20
Jason LeddingtonPeter Kivy Prize winner & Winner of the 2015 ASA/JAAC John Fisher Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal