Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
2014 ASA Rocky Mountain Division Meeting
Share |

The Rocky Mountain Division held its 31st annual meeting at The Lodge at Santa Fe, just north of downtown Santa Fe. This year, we were pleased to have David Davies, of McGill University, delivering the Manual Davenport Keynote Address on Friday afternoon. In addition, the Michael Manson Keynote Presentation by a visiting artist was delivered by Jerry West on Saturday afternoon.

This year brought the first presentation of ASA/RMD Graduate Student Award for Best Paper in Philosophy. In its inaugural year, there was a tie between the two first-place contenders, and so two prizes of $100 each were awarded. The 2014 winners of the Graduate Student Award were: Coleen Watson of Texas State University for “The Beauty of the Game: Sport and Establishing Artistic Interaction,” and Liam Clements of the University of Mississippi for “Two Peculiar Problems in Kant’s Third Critique.” The prize is made possible by the generous support of The Center for Philosophical Studies, Lamar University, Arthur Stewart, Director. ASA/RMD wishes to express its appreciation to Dr. Stewart for his annual five hundred dollars of financial support for the past fourteen years, as well as his funding of the newly established graduate student awards.

This summer marked the final term of Division President James W. Mock. Division Vice-President Reuben Ellis will succeed to the office of President. This year’s business meeting was brief, but fairly well attended (11 attendees, with one joining us via Skype).

This year 33 papers were presented, an increase from last year’s 26. The thirty-three presentations reflect the long-standing interdisciplinary focus of the division. To see the program, please visit

The session chairs managed the timing of presentations and discussions with uniform excellence and grace. We offer sincere thanks to all of them: Arthur Stewart, Spencer K. Wertz, John Samson, Reuben Ellis, Allison Hagerman, Eva M. Dadlez, Raphael Sassower, and James Mock.

The 2015 meeting arrangements and the call for papers will be announced according to the normal schedule on both the ASA and division websites.

Reuben Ellis

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Garry HagbergPeter Kivy Prize winner & 1997 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Keren GorodeiskyASA Trustee 2019-22

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal