Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
ASA Annual Meeting 2016
Share |

Seattle, Washington, November 11-15, 2016

We received 100 paper submissions for the meeting. Of these, a few were desk rejected as unsuitable. One was desk rejected because it was far over the word limit. One was withdrawn.

Two members of the program committee reviewed each of the 95 remaining submissions, all of which were prepared for anonymous review. Where the reviewers’ verdicts were polarized (one very strongly in favor, one very strongly opposed) and the submission was on a traditionally marginalized topic, the submission was sent to an additional program committee member for review. There were four such submissions, and two were eventually accepted.

We accepted 51 papers for the program, for an acceptance rate of 53.7% of refereed submissions. 33 of the submissions were solely authored by women, and one had a woman co-author. Of these 34 submissions, 19 were accepted, for an acceptance rate of 55.9%. One of the 19 was later withdrawn.

We received 12 panel submissions. Of these, one was withdrawn. All program committee members reviewed the remaining submissions, and the eight submissions with the highest aggregate review scores were accepted.

As in past years, panel proposals were more likely than submitted papers to address traditionally marginalized topics; the acceptance rate for panels was higher in part because we wished to ensure the inclusion of such topics on the program.

The program committee consisted of Emily Brady, Susan Feagin, John Gibson, Darren Hudson Hick, Carolyn Korsmeyer, Shen-yi Liao, Nick Riggle, Monique Roelofs, Stephanie Ross, Sandra Shapshay, Saam Trivedi and Sarah Worth. I am grateful to them for their outstanding work.

Respectfully Submitted,
Sherri Irvin

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Jeanette BicknellASA Ombudsperson; Local arrangements chair: 2018 Annual Meeting in Toronto
Monique RoelofsASA Trustee 2019-22 & Winner of the 2016 Curriculum Diversity Grant

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal