Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA Announces Irene H. Chayes New Voices Winners for 2019 Annual Meeting

Saturday, July 6, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The American Society for Aesthetics is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards: Shannon Brick and Zoe Cunliffe, both of the CUNY Graduate Program in Philosophy.

Shannon Brick's paper on "Aesthetic Testimony, Authenticity and Emotion" will be presented at the ASA Annual meeting in Phoenix, on Saturday, October 12 at 9-11 in the Camelback B room. She describes herself as growing up in "rural and remote working-class Australia." As a Master's student, she was a founding member of Women in Philosophy at the University of Melbourne. She is active in the MAP (Minorities and Philosophy) chapter at CUNY.

Zoe Cunliff's paper on "Empathetic Listening and Imaginative Resistance in Trauma Narratives" will be presented on Friday, October 11 at 11:15-1:15 in the Alhambra room. She describes herself as "a queer, biracial woman." She completed her undergraduate degree in the United Kingdom, where her work was informed by feminist philosophy. She is active in the MAP (Minorities and Philosophy) chapter at CUNY.

The awards were established in 2017 by the Board of Trustees of the ASA, at the request of the ASA Diversity Committee, to nourish and sustain an ethos of inclusivity in all aspects of the Society’s activities, and in the discipline of aesthetics more broadly.

The winners in 2018 in the inaugural competition were Emmanuel Ordóñez Angulo, University College, London, and Daniel Wilson, University of Auckland, New Zealand. Both papers were presented at the 76th Annual Meeting of the ASA in Toronto, October 10-13, 2018.

Applicants were asked to demonstrate the following characteristics:

1.      The author’s understanding of the barriers that lead to the underrepresentation of women, ethnic and racial minorities, non-gender-conforming individuals, persons with disabilities, persons from low-socio-economic-status backgrounds, and other members of groups historically underrepresented in higher education careers. Evidence of this understanding may be drawn from the author’s life experiences and educational background, and should be explained in a short personal statement.

2.       The author’s capacity to apply their understanding of the conditions of underrepresentation to their research. Applicants should demonstrate this critical perspective by, for example, proposing research topics that pertain in a substantial way to the artistic production or aesthetic experience of underrepresented groups.

Preference is given to applicants who are students, faculty on fixed-term, non-tenure ­stream contracts, or not in academic employment. 

Award recipients will receive $1,000 plus a travel grant of $1250 to present their work at the 2019 Annual Meeting in Phoenix, October 9-12, 2019. Paper submissions were reviewed anonymously with all other papers for the meeting by the ASA program committee, without any information on their request for the New Voices Award or other support. Eligibility for the Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award was reviewed by the chair of the ASA diversity committee. The final selection was made jointly by the Chairs of the Program Committee (John Kulvicki) and the Diversity Committee (Thi Nguyen).

Applicants for the 2020 awards should apply by January 15, 2020. Guidelines:

These awards have been made possible by the generosity of a large bequest from the estate of Irene H. Chayes to the American Society for Aesthetics.  Irene Hendry Chayes (1916-2014) received her B.A. and M.A. from New York University and her Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. She taught literature at the University of Maryland, Hollins College, and SUNY Binghamton.

more Meetings

5/1/2020 » 8/31/2020
Virtual Summer Aesthetics Festival

6/5/2020 » 6/8/2020
Virtual Aesthetics Day: North American Kant Society

Featured Members
Michael NewallWinner of the 2019 Outstanding Monograph Prize
Brian R. SoucekASA Trustee 2020-2023

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal