Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

Michael Fischer Wins 2020 Ted Cohen Prize

Thursday, June 25, 2020  
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

  The American Society for Aesthetics announces that Michael Fischer, of Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, has won the Ted Cohen Prize for 2020. His winning essay is "Ted Cohen on Sharing the World" published in Philosophy and Literature 2020:44 (188–198).

The complete article can be read here: The review committee noted: "Michael Fischer elaborates Ted Cohen's work on the importance of appreciating others, even when they are monsters, and he uses that work to address our current troubled political climate." 

The winner was selected from sixteen nominations by a committee of three senior ASA members. The prize for the winning essay is $1000. This is the sixth and final year for the Ted Cohen Prize, which has been supported by his widow, Andy Austin Cohen, and many friends and former students. The previous winners:

  • 2019: Julian Dodd (University of Manchester): "What 4'33" Is" in Australasian Journal of Philosophy 96:4 (629-642).
  • 2018: Terry F. Robinson (University of Toronto): "Eighteenth-Century Connoisseurship and the Female Body," in Oxford Handbooks Online (2017)
  • 2017: Steven D. Hales (Bloomsburg University): "Audiophile Aesthetics," American Philosophical Quarterly 54:2 (April 2017), 195-208.
  • 2016: Anna Christina Soy Ribeiro (Texas Tech University), "The Spoken and the Written—An Ontology of Poems," in The Philosophy of Poetry, John Gibson, ed. (Oxford University Press, 2015), pp. 127-148.
  • 2015: Carolyn Korsmeyer (University of Buffalo): "The Triumph of Time: Romanticism Redux," JAAC 72:4 (Fall 2014)

For other opportunities in 2021, please see the ASA Web site:

more Meetings

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

11/9/2020 » 11/14/2020
Virtual: ASA 78th Annual Meeting

Featured Members
Monique RoelofsASA Trustee 2019-22 & Winner of the 2016 Curriculum Diversity Grant
Alexandra KingSpeaker at UCSD summer diversity institute in 2020

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal