Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism
Share |

JAAC 2019 annual report

JAAC 2018 annual report

JAAC 2017 annual report

JAAC 2016 annual report

Established in 1942 by the American Society for Aesthetics, The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism publishes current research articles, symposia, special issues, and timely reviews of books in aesthetics and the philosophy of art. The philosophy of art includes scholarship examining the nature, meaning and value of the arts, considered generally or individually, where the arts are taken in the broadest possible sense. Aesthetics includes work on aesthetic experiences and values wherever they are found both in and beyond the arts.

The Journal takes a theoretical and interdisciplinary approach to the arts and aesthetic matters, including scholarship and practice in the fields of philosophy, English literature, comparative literature, art, music, theater and drama, art history, psychology, law, and related disciplines. The Journal welcomes philosophically-informed interdisciplinary research and exploration of non-traditional aesthetic issues. While the Journal does not publish criticism, it invites scholarly work on the purpose, value, and function of criticism throughout the arts as well as pieces that explore the philosophical or theoretical implications of individual artworks. The Journal does not publish manuscripts that consist mainly of commentary on articles published elsewhere, nor do we publish articles that are primarily expository. Normally, historical studies should concern issues of continuing philosophical or theoretical interest. We welcome short discussion pieces responding to articles published in the Journal.

The John Fisher Memorial Prize

The Journal also sponsors the bi-annual John Fisher Memorial Prize in Aesthetics in honor of John Fisher, editor of the Journal from 1973-1988. The Prize is offered to foster the development of new voices and talent in the field of aesthetics. The winner of the 2019 Prize is Dr. Nemesio García-Carril Puy for his paper entitled "The Ontology of Musical Versions: Introducing the Hypothesis of Nested Types," which he will present at the 77th Annual Meeting. Guidelines for the 2021 Fisher Prize are here.

Editorial Board and Staff

Editors: Robert Stecker, Central Michigan University
Theodore Gracyk, Minnesota State University Moorhead

Book Review Editor: Jonathan Neufeld, College of Charleston

Paloma Atencia-Linares, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
David Davies, McGill University
Stephen Davies, University of Auckland
Paul Guyer, Brown University
Garry Hagberg, Bard College
Kathleen Higgins, University of Texas at Austin
Sherri Irvin, University of Oklahoma
Carolyn Korsmeyer, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Jerrold Levinson, University of Maryland
Derek Matravers, The Open University
Dominic McIver Lopes, University of British Columbia
Jenefer Robinson, University of Cincinnati
Richard Shusterman, Florida Atlantic University
Kendall Walton, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Rachel Zuckert, Northwestern University

Charitable Contributions

The ASA is organized under the laws of Ohio as a nonprofit corporation. It has been ruled a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization by the United States Treasury Department, as an organization operated exclusively for educational purpose. Contributions, gifts, and bequests to the Society are deductible from Federal income tax returns, to the maximum extent allowed by law.

Donating Back Issues

Do you have a run of JAAC issues that you no longer need and would like to put to good use? From time to time the JAAC receives requests from individuals or institutions for back issues that are no longer available. If you'd like to contribute your JAAC back issues for such purposes, please contact Julie Van Camp, Secretary-Treasurer of the ASA We appreciate your consideration.

more Meetings

10/2/2020 » 10/3/2020
Virtual Conference: "Art, Desire, and God: Phenomenological Perspectives"

10/24/2020 » 10/25/2020
Virtual Workshop on the Philosophy of Games

Featured Members
Derek MatraversASA Trustee 2008-11; 2017 Richard Wollheim speaker; Program Chair 2014 Annual Mtg
Michael NewallWinner of the 2019 Outstanding Monograph Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal